interests represented unless the committee agrees to define such term to mean general but not unanimous concurrence, or agrees upon another specified definition.

If the committee reaches consensus on the proposed rule, the committee shall transmit a report containing the proposed rule to the Secretary at the conclusion of negotiations. If the committee does not reach consensus on the proposed rule, it may transmit a report specifying any areas in which it did reach consensus, and any other recommendation it considers appropriate, including dissenting views of committee members. DOI, to the maximum extent consistent with its legal obligations, will use the consensus of the committee as the basis for a proposed rule for notice and comment. Parties to the negotiation may withdraw at any time. If this happens, the remaining committee members will evaluate whether the committee should continue or be reconstituted.

Meetings will be held in the Washington area, or in another location, at the convenience of the committee. DOI will announce committee meetings in the Federal Register. These meetings will be open to the public.

# **Records of Meetings**

In accordance with the requirements of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. Appendix, DOI will keep a record of all committee meetings.

#### Administrative Support

The Office of Self-Governance will provide funding for the costs of the committee, as well as administrative support and technical assistance, including logistical support services, for the activities of the committee.

### **Committee Membership**

The Act requires that the committee be comprised only of Federal and tribal government representatives and that a majority of the tribal committee members be representatives from Self-Governance tribes. In a letter to the Secretary on November 1, 1994, the Self-Governance tribes nominated the following persons:

Rhonda Swaney—(Salish & Kootenai-Flathead)

Ron Allen—(Jamestown S'Klallam) Loretta Bullard—(Kawerak) Dale Risling—(Hoopa) Bernida Churchill—(Mille Lacs) Lindsey Manning—(Duck Valley

**Shoshone Paiute)** 

Merle Boyd—(Sac & Fox)

The Secretary has determined that the individuals listed above shall represent the Self-Governance Tribes. In order to comply with the Act the federal representatives will be comprised of two individuals and that there will be four representatives from non-Self-Governance tribes, for a total of thirteen committee members. The federal representatives shall consist of a Special Assistant to the Secretary and the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Indian

Affairs. The representatives of the non-Self-Governance tribes will be selected by the Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs from the nominations received under this notice.

# **Application for Membership**

Non-Self-Governance tribes may nominate tribal leaders to fill the four designated positions on the Joint Tribal and Federal Self-Governance Negotiated Rulemaking Committee. Each nomination shall include:

- 1. The name, address and telephone number of the nominee and the name of his or her tribe.
- 2. Evidence that the nominee is authorized to represent that tribe.
- 3. A written commitment from the nominee to actively participate in good faith in the development of the proposed rule.

The Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs will give full consideration to all applications and nominations timely submitted.

#### **Solicitation of Public Comments**

Members of the public are invited to submit comments on this proposal to establish the Joint Tribal and Federal Self-Governance Negotiated Rulemaking Committee, as well as on the proposed membership of the committee.

Dated: February 6, 1995.

## Ada E. Deer,

Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs. [FR Doc. 95-3622 Filed 2-14-95; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 4310-02-P