Recommendations for revising standards and guides for large woody material; (2) Local area issues presentation; (3) Public forum. All Province Advisory Committee meetings are open to the public, interested citizens are encouraged to attend; and (4) Monitoring Subcommittee report.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Direct questions regarding this meeting to Kurt Austermann, Province Advisory Committee Staff, USDI, Medford District, Bureau of Land Management, 3040 Biddle Rd., Medford, Oregon 97504, phone 541–770–2200.

Dated: December 18, 1995. James T. Gladen, *Forest Supervisor, Designated Federal Official.* [FR Doc. 95–31340 Filed 12–26–95; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 3410-11-M

Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration

Designation for the Alton (IL), Columbus (OH), and Farwell (TX) Areas

AGENCY: Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration (GIPSA). **ACTION:** Notice.

SUMMARY: GIPSA announces the designation of Alton Grain Inspection Department (Alton), Columbus Grain Inspection, Inc. (Columbus), and Farwell Grain Inspection, Inc. (Farwell), to provide official services under the United States Grain Standards Act, as amended (Act).

EFFECTIVE DATES: April 1, 1996, for Alton; March 1, 1996, for Columbus; and February 1, 1996, for Farwell. **ADDRESSES:** Janet M. Hart, Chief, Review Branch, Compliance Division, GIPSA, USDA, Room 1647 South Building, P.O. Box 96454, Washington, DC 20090– 6454.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Janet M. Hart, telephone 202–720–8525. SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

This action has been reviewed and determined not to be a rule or regulation as defined in Executive Order 12866 and Departmental Regulation 1512–1; therefore, the Executive Order and Departmental Regulation do not apply to this action.

In the August 1, 1995, Federal Register (60 FR 39147), GIPSA asked persons interested in providing official services in the geographic areas assigned to Alton, Columbus, and Farwell to submit an application for designation. Applications were due by August 30, 1995. There were four applicants: Alton, Columbus, and Farwell each applied for designation to provide official inspection services in the entire areas currently assigned to them; California Department of Food and Agriculture, applied for the Yuma County, Arizona, portion of the Farwell area.

GIPSA requested comments on the applicants in the September 29, 1995, Federal Register (60 FR 50542). Comments were due by October 30, 1995. GIPSA received no comments by the deadline.

GIPSA evaluated all available information regarding the designation criteria in Section 7(f)(l)(A) of the Act; and according to Section 7(f)(l)(B), determined that Alton and Columbus are able to provide official services in the geographic areas for which they applied, and that Farwell is better able to provide official services in the geographic area for which they applied. Effective April 1, 1996, and ending January 31, 1999, Alton is designated to provide official inspection services in the geographic area specified in the June 1, 1995, Federal Register. Effective March 1, 1996, and ending January 31, 1999, Columbus is designated to provide official inspection services in the geographic area specified in the June 1, 1995, Federal Register. Effective February 1, 1996, and ending January 31, 1999, Farwell is designated to provide official inspection services in the geographic area specified in the June 1, 1995, Federal Register.

Interested persons may obtain official services by contacting Alton at 314–838–1961, Columbus at 614–474–3519, and Farwell at 806–481–9052.

AUTHORITY: Pub. L. 94–582, 90 Stat. 2867, as amended (7 U.S.C. 71 *et seq.*)

Dated: December 18, 1995

Neil E. Porter

Director, Compliance Division

[FR Doc. 95–31270 Filed 12–26–95; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 3410–EN–F

Opportunity for Designation in the Barton (KY) and North Dakota (ND) Areas

AGENCY: Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration (GIPSA). **ACTION:** Notice.

SUMMARY: The United States Grain Standards Act, as amended (Act), provides that official agency designations will end not later than triennially and may be renewed. The designations of J. W. Barton Grain Inspection Service, Inc. (Barton), and North Dakota Grain Inspection Service, Inc. (North Dakota), will end June 30, 1996, according to the Act, and GIPSA is asking persons interested in providing official services in the Barton and North Dakota areas to submit an application for designation.

DATES: Applications must be postmarked or sent by telecopier (FAX) on or before January 30, 1996. ADDRESSES: Applications must be submitted to Janet M. Hart, Chief, Review Branch, Compliance Division, GIPSA, USDA, Room 1647 South Building, P.O. Box 96454, Washington, DC 20090-6454. Telecopier (FAX) users may send applications to the automatic telecopier machine at 202-690-2755, attention: Janet M. Hart. If an application is submitted by telecopier, GIPSA reserves the right to request an original application. All applications will be made available for public inspection at this address located at 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., during regular business hours. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Janet M. Hart, telephone 202-720-8525. SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

This action has been reviewed and determined not to be a rule or regulation as defined in Executive Order 12866 and Departmental Regulation 1512–1; therefore, the Executive Order and Departmental Regulation do not apply to this action.

Section 7(f)(1) of the Act authorizes GIPSA' Administrator to designate a qualified applicant to provide official services in a specified area after determining that the applicant is better able than any other applicant to provide such official services. GIPSA designated Barton, main office located in Owensboro, Kentucky, and North Dakota, main office located in Fargo, North Dakota, to provide official inspection services under the Act on July 1, 1993. Section 7(g)(1) of the Act provides that designations of official agencies shall end not later than triennially and may be renewed according to the criteria and procedures prescribed in Section 7(f) of the Act. The designations of Barton and North Dakota end on June 30, 1996.

The geographic area presently assigned to Barton, in the States of Indiana, Kentucky, and Tennessee, pursuant to Section 7(f)(2) of the Act, which may be assigned to the applicant selected for designation is as follows:

In Indiana: Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Jackson, Jennings, Jefferson, Lawrence, Martin, Orange, Perry, Scott, Spencer, and Washington Counties.

In Kentucky: Bounded on the North by the northern Daviess, Hancock, Breckinridge, Meade, Hardin, Jefferson, Oldham, Trimble, and Carroll County lines;

66958