tebufenozide on cotton to control beet armyworms; July 18, 1995, to September 30, 1995. (Margarita Collantes)

9. Michigan Department of Agriculture for the use of triadimefon on asparagus to control asparagus rust; June 21, 1995, to November 1, 1995. (David Deegan)

- 10. Michigan Department of Agriculture for the use of chlorothalonil on asparagus to control purple spot; June 21, 1995, to November 1, 1995. (David Deegan)
- 11. Minnesota Department of Agriculture for the use of triclopyr on aquatic sites to control purple loose strife; July 26, 1995, to September 15, 1995. (Libby Pemberton)
- 12. Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce for the use of tebufenozide on cotton to control beet armyworms; July 18, 1995, to September 30, 1995. Mississippi had initiated a crisis exemption for this use. (Margarita Collantes)
- 13. Montana Department of Agriculture for the use of cyhalothrin on small grains to control cutworms; May 17, 1995, to July 1, 1995. (Margarita Collantes)
- 14. New Jersey Environmental Protection Agency for the use of cymoxanil on tomatoes to control late blight; July 27, 1995, to April 1, 1996. A notice of receipt published in Federal Register of August 2, 1995 (60 FR 39387). The situation appears to be urgent; nonroutine; use can be toxicologically supported and hazard to nontarget organisms is not expected; use is not expected to pose a threat to surface and/or ground water. (Libby Pemberton)
- 15. New Jersey Environmental Protection Agency for the use of propamocarb hydrochloride on tomatoes to control late blight; July 27, 1995, to April 1, 1996. (Libby Pemberton)
- 16. New York Department of Environmental Conservation for the use of vinclozolin on snap beans to control white and gray mold; June 1, 1995, to September 15, 1995. (Kerry Leifer)
- 17. North Dakota Department of Agriculture for the use of sethoxydim on buckwheat to control volunteer cereal grains; July 18, 1995, to July 30, 1995. (David Deegan)
- 18. Tennessee Department of Agriculture for the use of tebufenozide on cotton to control beet armyworms; July 18, 1995, to September 30, 1995. (Margarita Collantes)
- 19. Texas Department of Agriculture for the use of carbofuran on cotton to control aphids; June 9, 1995, to September 15, 1995. (David Deegan)

20. Washington Department of Agriculture for the use of propamacarb hydrochloride, cymoxanil, and dimethomorph on potatoes to control late blight; July 7, 1995, to September 30, 1995. (Libby Pemberton)

21. Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection for the use of mancozeb on ginseng to control leaf and stem blight; May 23, 1995, to August 31, 1995. (Margarita Collantes)

22. Wyoming Department of Agriculture for the use of pirimicarb on alfalfa grown for seed to control alfalfa aphids, pea aphids, and lygus bugs; June 16, 1995, to August 31, 1995. (Larry Fried)

The following States listed below were granted an emergency exemption for the use of propamocarb hydrochloride on potatoes to control late blight; June 23, 1995, to September 30, 1995, except for Florida and Oregon, whose expiration date is June 22, 1996, and October 31, 1995, respectively. A notice of receipt published in the Federal Register of June 21, 1995 (60 FR 32319). The exemption was granted on the basis that the situation appears to be urgent and nonroutine. Limited supplies of recently authorized products indicate need for a third chemical. The use can be toxicologically supported and is not expected to result in hazard to nontarget organisms and should not pose a threat to surface and/or ground water.

1. Delaware Department of Agriculture.

2. Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

3. Georgia Department of Agriculture.

- 4. Maine Department of Agriculture.
- Maryland Department of Agriculture.
- 6. Michigan Department of Agriculture.
- 7. Minnesota Department of Agriculture.
- 8. New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection. 9. New York Department of
- Environmental Conservation. 10. North Dakota Department of
- Agriculture.
  11. Ohio Department of Agriculture.
- 12. Oregon Department of Agriculture.
- 13. Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture.
- 14. South Dakota Department of Agriculture.
- 15. Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 16. Wisconsin Department of

Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection. (Libby Pemberton)

Crisis exemptions were initiated by the:

- 1. Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce on July 7, 1995, for the use of tebufenozide on cotton to control beet armyworms. This program has ended. (Margarita Collantes)
- 2. Montana Department of Agriculture on July 15, 1995, for the use of bifenthrin on canola to control diamondback moth larvae. This program has ended. (Andrea Beard)

EPA has denied a specific exemption request from the:

- 1. California Department of Pesticide Regulations for the use of fenpropathrin on tomatoes to control silverleaf and greehouse whiteflies. (Margarita Collantes)
- 2. Montana Department of Agriculture for the use tralkoxydim on wheat to control weeds. The Agency denied the exemption because the situation is routine and not urgent, and significant economic loss is not expected. (Margarita Collantes)
- 3. Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota Departments of Agriculture for the use of propiconazole on wheat and barley to control fusarium head blight. The request was denied because residue chemistry indicated that the crops would contain carcinogenic residue in processed commodities. This triggered the "Delaney Clause" of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA). (Margarita Collantes)

EPA denied the following specific exemption requests for use of Pirate on cotton to control beet armyworms. Pirate is an unregistered chemical which was denied due to risk of unreasonable adverse effects to nontarget birds, aquatic organisms, and the environment. In addition, a registered alternative, tebufenozide, was granted to control this pest on the southeastern cotton belt region.

- 1. Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries.
  - 2. Arkansas State Plant Board.
- 3. Georgia Department of Agriculture.
- 4. Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry.
- 5. Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce.
- 6. Tennessee Department of Agriculture. (Margarita Collantes) Authority: 7 U.S.C. 136.

## List of Subjects

Environmental protection, Pesticides and pest, Crisis exemptions.