September Canada goose seasons and the regular goose season shall not exceed 100 days.

Quota Zones: Seasons on Canada geese must end upon attainment of individual quotas of dusky Canada geese allotted to the designated areas of Oregon and Washington. The September Canada goose season, the regular goose season, any special late Canada goose season, and any extended falconry season, combined, must not exceed 107 days and the established quota of dusky Canada geese must not be exceeded. Hunting of Canada geese in those designated areas shall only be by hunters possessing a State-issued permit authorizing them to do so. In a Serviceapproved investigation, the State must obtain quantitative information on hunter compliance of those regulations aimed at reducing the take of dusky Canada geese and eliminating the take of Aleutian Canada geese. The daily bag limit of Canada geese may not include more than 2 cackling Canada goose.

In the designated areas of the Washington Quota Zone, a special late Canada goose may be held between February 5 and March 10. The daily bag limit may not include either Aleutian or cackling Canada geese.

Swans

In designated areas of Utah, Nevada, and the Pacific Flyway portion of Montana, an open season for taking a limited number of swans may be selected. Permits will be issued by States and will authorize each permittee to take no more than 1 swan per season. The season may open no earlier than the Saturday nearest October 1 (September 30). The States must implement a harvest-monitoring program to measure the species composition of the swan harvest. In Utah and Nevada, the harvest-monitoring program must require that all harvested swans or their specie-determinant parts be examined by either State or Federal biologists for the purpose of species classification. All States should use appropriate measures to maximize hunter compliance in providing bagged swans for examination or, in the case of Montana, reporting bill-measurement and color information. All States must provide to the Service by June 30, 1996, a report covering harvest, hunter participation, reporting compliance, and monitoring of swan populations in the designated hunt areas. These seasons will be subject to the following conditions:

In Utah, no more than 2,750 permits may be issued. The season must end no later than the first Sunday in December (December 3) or upon attainment of 15 trumpeter swans in the harvest, whichever occurs earliest.

In Nevada, no more than 650 permits may be issued. The season must end no later than the Sunday following January 1 (January 7) or upon attainment of 5 trumpeter swans in the harvest, whichever occurs earliest.

In Montana, no more than 500 permits may be issued. The season must end no later than December 1.

Tundra Swans

In Central Flyway portion of Montana, and in New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Virginia, an open season for taking a limited number of tundra swans may be selected. Permits will be issued by the States and will authorize each permittee to take no more than 1 tundra swan per season. The States must obtain harvest and hunter participation data. These seasons will be subject to the following conditions:

In the Atlantic Flyway

—The season will be experimental. —The season may be 90 days, must occur during the light goose season, but may not extend beyond January 31.

—In New Jersey, no more than 200 permits may be issued.

—In North Carolina, no more than 6,000 permits may be issued.

—In Virginia, no more than 600 permits may be issued.

In the Central Flyway

—The season may be 107 days and must occur during the light goose season.

—In the Central-Flyway portion of Montana, no more than 500 permits may be issued.

—In North Dakota, no more than 2,000 permits may be issued.

—In South Dakota, no more than 1,500 permits may be issued.

Area, Unit and Zone Descriptions

Ducks (Including Mergansers) and Coots

Atlantic Flyway

Connecticut

North Zone: That portion of the State north of I-95.

South Zone: That portion of the State south of I-95.

Maine

North Zone: Game Management Zones 1 through 5.

South Zone: Game Management

Zones 6 through 8.

Massachusetts

Western Zone: That portion of the State west of a line extending south from the Vermont border on I-91 to MA 9, west on MA 9 to MA 10, south on MA 10 to U.S. 202, south on U.S. 202 to the Connecticut border. Central Zone: That portion of the State east of the Berkshire Zone and west of a line extending south from the New Hampshire border on I-95 to U.S. 1, south on U.S. 1 to I-93, south on I-93 to MA 3, south on MA 3 to U.S. 6, west on U.S. 6 to MA 28, west on MA 28 to I-195, west to the Rhode Island border; except the waters, and the lands 150 yards inland from the high-water mark, of the Assonet River upstream to the MA 24 bridge, and the Taunton River upstream to the Center St.-Elm St. bridge shall be in the Coastal Zone.

Coastal Zone: That portion of Massachusetts east and south of the Central Zone.

New Hampshire

Coastal Zone: That portion of the State east of a line extending west from Maine border in Rollinsford on NH 4 to the city of Dover, south to NH 108, south along NH 108 through Madbury, Durham, and Newmarket to NH 85 in Newfields, south to NH 101 in Exeter, east to NH 51 (Exeter-Hampton Expressway), east to I-95 (New Hampshire Turnpike) in Hampton, and south along I-95 to the Massachusetts border.

Inland Zone: That portion of the State north and west of the above boundary. *New Jersey*

Coastal Zone: That portion of the State seaward of a line beginning at the New York border in Raritan Bay and extending west along the New York border to NJ 440 at Perth Amboy; west on NJ 440 to the Garden State Parkway; south on the Garden State Parkway to the shoreline at Cape May and continuing to the Delaware border in Delaware Bay.

North Zone: That portion of the State west of the Coastal Zone and north of a line extending west from the Garden State Parkway on NJ 70 to the New Jersey Turnpike, north on the turnpike to U.S. 206, north on U.S. 206 to U.S. 1 at Trenton, west on U.S. 1 to the Pennsylvania border in the Delaware River.

South Zone: That portion of the State not within the North Zone or the Coastal Zone.

New York

Lake Champlain Zone: The U.S. portion of Lake Champlain and that area east and north of a line extending along NY 9B from the Canadian border to U.S. 9, south along U.S. 9 to NY 22 south of Keesville; south along NY 22 to the west shore of South Bay, along and around the shoreline of South Bay to NY 22 on the east shore of South Bay; southeast along NY 22 to U.S. 4, northeast along U.S. 4 to the Vermont border.

Long Island Zone: That area consisting of Nassau County, Suffolk